top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVeterans' Life Stories

Michael Contos: Owning the Mental Illness Among Us



Submitted from his personal blog

Read more about Michael and his experience at https://contoveros.com/


Mental illness scares the shit out of me. The very term conjures up images of some crazed guy with wild, straggly hair and a demon-like smile of malevolence. Steven King kind of comes to mind when I think of someone who might be a little touched in the head. A Stephen King character, that is. Not Stephen King.


Who could ever admit to such a malady, I thought. You gotta be crazy to be classified as one of the “mentally ill.” And then one day it happened. I admitted myself to an impatient program after getting into three fights with assistant district attorneys in a courtroom in Philadelphia. Yes, I became a little crazy.


And now I’m admitting it to the world. I got something psychologists and social workers now label as Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder. I kind of earned it in the Vietnam War. It wasn’t always called PTSD. Prior to that, it was “Battle Fatigue” and “Shell Shock.” Physicians at the time of the American Civil War called it “Nostalgia.”


Among those exposed to military trauma, some reported missing home, feeling sad, sleep problems, and anxiety. Another model of this condition included what some saw as a physical injury with typical symptoms. They called it “Soldier’s Heart” or “irritable heart.” They experienced a rapid pulse, anxiety, and trouble breathing. Soldiers were often returned to battle after receiving drugs to control symptoms.


There was little if any studies conducted for veterans who returned home and suffered what we now call “flashbacks.” I learned that the anger and rage that accompanies PTSD was actually written about thousands of years ago by a Greek poet named Homer when vocalizing the story called the “Iliad.” Shakespeare mentioned it in his writings too!


Owning up to it and sharing it with another person is the first step in accepting what some might call the “shadow side” of ourselves. By bringing the shadow closer to the light, I believe we all can become enlightened.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Lori Robinson: Something Bigger Than Myself

Interviewed by Peter Ma My dad was in the Air Force, so my entire life all I’ve known was to move every two or three years. However, this was the most amazing experience growing up. We lived overseas

Javier: A Higher Standard

Interviewed by James Porter Edited by Ivy Liu I knew that leaving the military could mean putting on a few pounds, but gaining the freshman fifteen on top of that few wasn’t anything I was looking to

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page