top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVeterans' Life Stories

James: On Writing and Religion

Interviewed by Alexa Pisciotti and Sonia Radu


I think I’m most excited about my book. That’s right, I have a book coming out sometime soon. I think in February or March, which is longer than I wanted but I’m willing to wait for it because the world really needs to hear about this stuff right now. The world needs to hear about this so much so that Newman Publication didn’t even question me when I said I wanted to publish it, they just took it, they took my handwritten manuscript. It was handwritten! It’s taken around a year now and I’m really ready for it to be available for the world to read. It’s going to be controversial, I’m sure of it, but sometimes that’s important.


I wrote this book under the guidance of the Holy Spirit. It gave me the idea for it. The first creation of man was created in the image of God, but it wasn’t as most people think of Adam. The image of God actually was a hermaphrodite before Adam was separated into Adam and Eve. Woman comes from man. This is groundbreaking information for the people that aren’t aware of this.


I also tell the story of the Prodigal Son from a new perspective. Very few people realize that the father in that story was a single father. He missed his son so dearly and so when this son came back all that this father wanted was for his son to come home. I know, from experience, that fathers worry just as much as mothers do. I have a daughter, so I know that the father felt “here comes my boy”, of course I want to run out there and hug him! So I tell what the father went through.


The dog and the rabbit is another story that I wrote, but mostly for the kids. But there’s a lot of applications for adults too. The dog always chases the rabbit, but one day the rabbit falls into a hole. The dog talks to him about getting out of the hole and, well, I won’t spoil the rest! You’ll have to read the book to find out what happens.


But anyway, the book really asks what the title says which is “What Is This?”. It breaks down a lot of central things.


But enough about my book… I grew up right here in Pennsylvania but I’ve been living in California for the past several years. Now I’m back in Pennsylvania for a little while, but I’ve been traveling a lot, preaching and working on my book. In fact, I was just in Utah preaching after an invitation to visit.


I grew up in quite the religious family—I’ve been preaching since I was 3 years old and I preach every chance that I get. It’s my calling and I have committed my life to it. My job doesn’t feel like a job, I don’t want people to hide themselves from being true to themselves. I’m just a person, I’m just another human being that makes mistakes. I want to be a servant to others as a minister; I love that servant role.


I was in the military for 13 years as a military chaplain. I don’t feel like what I did was as important as all of the heroes who served our nation, they deserve the glory; my service was simply the spiritual last rights, death notification of families--there’s no glory in it. 13 years in Vietnam. I had seen death before I even went there, but the hardest part was still delivering the death notices. I still today don’t know the proper way to do that. You never know how someone’s going to react, you never know what they want you to do. I think there’s no good way to do it. I went there at 16 and it changed my life. I don’t know, I don’t really like to talk about myself much.


But I wanted to be a chaplain all of my life. It was one of my two callings, along with becoming a lawyer. I’ve been preaching since I was 3 years old, as I mentioned, and I just recently became certified as a paralegal in 2018. I’m really happy with myself for doing this. The paralegals are the ones that do all of the work for the lawyers anyway. The paralegal course is supposed to be 11 months and of course I finished it in 8. So now I’ve done the two things I really wanted to do in life.


Now that my book’s finally done, and at this time in life, I just want to find a place and relax for a change. I’m looking forward to it.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Lori Robinson: Something Bigger Than Myself

Interviewed by Peter Ma My dad was in the Air Force, so my entire life all I’ve known was to move every two or three years. However, this was the most amazing experience growing up. We lived overseas

Javier: A Higher Standard

Interviewed by James Porter Edited by Ivy Liu I knew that leaving the military could mean putting on a few pounds, but gaining the freshman fifteen on top of that few wasn’t anything I was looking to

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page